State of IT 2020 – US:IT Year in Review



Joseph Arsenault Network Engineer I Networkmaine/Infrastructure, UMaine
Zachary Baldwin IT Specialist CL3 IT Support Services, UMaine
Christopher Emery IT Specialist CL3 Academic/Research Computing, UMaine
Kate McPherson Classroom & Desktop Support Specialist IT Support Services, UMA
Debra Ugosoli IT Specialist CL2 Card and Cellular Services, USM
Christopher Walker IT Specialist CL2 IT Support Services, UMaine
Gabriel Winch Network Engineer I Networkmaine/Infrastructure, UMaine
Owen Wood Senior Classroom Technology Engineer Classroom Technology, USM
Jeffrey York Desktop Services Technician IT Support Services, USM


Information Technology folks were unable to gather in person for an annual summit this year, however recognition certificates and awards were distributed to 26 staff members celebrating 5 to 40 years of service.

Name Position Team
5 Years
Joseph Duchette Classroom and Desktop Support IT Campus Service – UMA
Emma L. Gelsinger Data Consistency & Policy Analyst IT Information Security
Todd Marquis Application Administrator Card – Cell Services
Brandy Miller Web Design Manager Custom Enterprise Solutions
Heidi L. Raynes IT Specialist CL2 IT Tech Support Center
10 Years
Chadeverett E. Brown Campus IT Op Mgr – USM IT Campus Services – USM
James M. Connors Software Support Lead Card – Cell Services
Thomas J. Ouellette Senior Analyst Programmer Custom Enterprise Solutions
Robin L. Perry Software Support Analyst Service Delivery & Support
15 Years
Thomas S. Drake Sr. Campus IT Op Mgr – UM IT Campus Services – UM
Brenda J. Kane Administrative Specialist CL2 Card – Cell Services
Tanner Kelleter Campus IT Operations Mgr IT Campus Service – UMA
Drew D. Northup Technical Support Specialist IT Enterprise Computing & App
Bryon L. Sibley End User Technology Manager IT End User Technology
20 Years
Arthur A. Drolet III Technical Lead IT Campus Service – UMF
Andrew W. Henry Network Operations Ctr Coord IT Infrastructure
Marteen R. Hester Campus IT Op Mgr – UMPI IT Campus Services – UMPI
James B. Kessler Software Support Specialist I IT Campus Services – USM
Corey D. Lavoie Dir Struct Cable & Camp Net IT Infrastructure
25 Years
Eugene P. Daigle Information Technology IT Mgmt East
Judith Ferrante IT Purchasing Coordinator Operations
30 Years
Emily M. Johnston Senior Analyst Programmer Custom Enterprise Solutions
Robert Sobczak Transmission Engineer II Classroom Technology
35 Years
James L. Cyr Associate Director of Networking IT End User Technology
John A. St. Peter Database Administrator Lead IT Enterprise Computing & App
40 Years
Susan M. Robinson Manager, Campus Card & Cell Sv Card – Cell Services

In addition, special service awards were presented as follows:

CIO Award – for someone whose contribution to delivering IT services has been above and beyond.

Winner: Todd Berry, Manager of Web and Data Solutions

Extra Mile Award – for someone who has gone the extra mile to provide high-quality service delivery. 

Winner: Zora Merrill, IT Specialist CL2

Team Impact Award – a) Superior performance by a group or cross-functional team demonstrated by the achievement of goals through collaboration; b) Recognizes outstanding teamwork within a group or team and promotes the spirit of teamwork within US:IT. 

Winner: IT Support/Help Desk Teams


To assist faculty across the University to best leverage the pending transition in Learning Management System from Blackboard Learn to Desire2Learn’s Brightspace, the Brightspace implementation core team, led by the Educational Technology Advisory Committee and members of the US:IT team, designed and delivered the UMS Brightspace Virtual Symposium in May 2020.  This 2-day virtual training event was designed for faculty to learn, explore and experience the Brightspace Learning Management environment through a series of sessions led by faculty colleagues and experts.  The sessions focused on how Brightspace differs from Blackboard, how to use the Brightspace environment effectively, and time-saving tips and tricks.  The event was kicked off with an introduction from the University of Maine System Chancellor, Dannel Malloy, and a keynote address from Desire2Learn CEO John Baker.

The event was a tremendous success, with over 900 participants registered to attend one or more interactive sessions across the two days.

This was the first fully virtual faculty conference conducted using the Zoom web conferencing tool.